Gargoyle

What will pedals do in space?

Ok I'm a layman when it comes to pedals but, as far as I know, they are used to control lateral yaw i.e. rudder control.

In space there is no rudder, we'll have multi-directional thrusters replacing rudders and ailerons etc. Wouldn't these be better controlled from a second joystick, HAT switch or even the keyboard?

Am I seeing rudder pedals too one dimensionally here and is there more to them?

Rudder pedals control the third direction of rotation, just the same as the twist axis on joysticks normally does. The advantage of pedals is just that you can control this rotation more exactly than with the twist axis and you don't move the other 2 axis unintentionally when yawing.

It doesnt matter if you have a rudder or not, you will still have that kind of "function" just with a different resource, in this case using thrusters instead. As Maverick says, its just a more exact control compared to the twist axis etc. :)

Ok I'm a layman when it comes to pedals but, as far as I know, they are used to control lateral yaw i.e. rudder control.

In space there is no rudder, we'll have multi-directional thrusters replacing rudders and ailerons etc. Wouldn't these be better controlled from a second joystick, HAT switch or even the keyboard?

Am I seeing rudder pedals too one dimensionally here and is there more to them?

There are 3 dimensions in this universe you can control, so you need 3 Axis of control.

jc0c.jpg

Pretty interesting to think about.  The shuttle actually had aerodynamic flight surfaces for re-entry and landings.  But in space it was completely reliant on 14 small thrusters on the fore/aft, port/starboard sides to make all attitude adjustments from one control stick.

Playing with my Aurora in the hanger mod, I kind of envisioned the left stick and pedals for flight controls and the right for weapons targeting hehe.  

If you had pedals you can still use them for Yaw, or left and right on the ships axis.